• Improvement Sugestions and Complaints

    In Coimbra University, your opinion matters.

    So we've created the Integrated Improvement: an open channel for filing complaints or suggestions for improvement, thus enabling us to serve better.

    To express your opinion about the specific web page UC.PT, click here.

    Thank you.
    Universidade de Coimbra

loading...

Doctoral Program

Doctoral Program

Plan of Studies

The Doctoral Program in  Information Science and Technology consists of 3 years that may be extended up to a maximum of 5 years. In the first year the student must enroll in four courses plus the thesis proposal in order to complete a set of 60 ECTS:

  • 24 ECTS obtained after the completion of four courses.
  • 36 ECTS after writing a valid Thesis Proposal.


No student can enroll in Thesis without completing and successfully defending the Thesis Proposal.

The Thesis Proposal
The Thesis Proposal is a written essay that should include a detailed report on the state of the art and work related to the research theme, the description of the problem(s) intended to be solved, the possible techniques or methods used to solve that/those problem(s), an estimate of the expected results, a list of the papers that are targeted to be published and an activity plan. The thesis proposal will be evaluated in a public session by a Committee of three Professors.



Once the student obtains the 60 ECTS he/she should dedicate full time to research activities aiming at the writing of the final dissertation. This research work will be supervised by a department member and will be structured according to the framework of one of the CISUC research groups.


Final Dissertation
During the research period the PhD students will be totally integrated in the activities of one research group from CISUC. The final Thesis should be submitted within a maximum of 5 years time after the beginning of the course.

Available Courses in 2013/2014

CLICK HERE FOR COURSE SYLLABI

COURSE
PROFESSORCONTACT
FIRST SEMESTER
  
Advanced Topics in CommunicationsFernando Boavidaboavida@dei.uc.pt
Research MethodsLuis Paquete
paquete@dei.uc.pt
Advanced Topics on Artificial IntelligenceLuis Macedomacedo@dei.uc.pt
Computational LogicAlexandre Pintoampinto@dei.uc.pt
StatisticsPaulo Oliveirapaulo@mat.uc.pt
Dependability of Computer SystemsRaúl Barbosa
rbarbosa@dei.uc.pt
SECOND SEMESTER
  
Advanced Topics on Cognitive ModelingAmilcar Cardosoamilcar@dei.uc.pt
Advanced Topics on GeomathematicsGil Ritogil@mat.uc.pt
Technologies and Learning
António Mendes
toze@dei.uc.pt
Connectivity and Patterns RecognitionBernardete Ribeirobribeiro@dei.uc.pt
Real Time Learning in Intelligent SystemsAntónio Douradodourado@dei.uc.pt
Biosignals Analysis and ProcessingJorge Henriquesjh@dei.uc.pt
Evolutionary and Complex SystemsErnesto Costaernesto@dei.uc.pt