loading...

Doctoral Program

Doctoral Program

Plan of Studies

The Doctoral Program in  Information Science and Technology consists of 3 years that may be extended up to a maximum of 5 years. In the first year the student must enroll in four courses plus the thesis proposal in order to complete a set of 60 ECTS:

  • 24 ECTS obtained after the completion of four courses.
  • 36 ECTS after writing a valid Thesis Proposal.


No student can enroll in Thesis without completing and successfully defending the Thesis Proposal.

The Thesis Proposal
The Thesis Proposal is a written essay that should include a detailed report on the state of the art and work related to the research theme, the description of the problem(s) intended to be solved, the possible techniques or methods used to solve that/those problem(s), an estimate of the expected results, a list of the papers that are targeted to be published and an activity plan. The thesis proposal will be evaluated in a public session by a Committee of three Professors.



Once the student obtains the 60 ECTS he/she should dedicate full time to research activities aiming at the writing of the final dissertation. This research work will be supervised by a department member and will be structured according to the framework of one of the CISUC research groups.


Final Dissertation
During the research period the PhD students will be totally integrated in the activities of one research group from CISUC. The final Thesis should be submitted within a maximum of 5 years time after the beginning of the course.

Available Courses in 2015/2016

CLICK HERE FOR COURSE SYLLABI

COURSE
PROFESSORCONTACT
FIRST SEMESTER
  
Advanced Topics in CommunicationsMarília Curado
marilia@dei.uc.pt
Research MethodsLuis Paquete
paquete@dei.uc.pt
Advanced Topics on Artificial IntelligenceLuis Macedomacedo@dei.uc.pt
Software Reuse and Project Patterns
Fernando Barros
barros@dei.uc.pt
StatisticsPaulo Oliveirapaulo@mat.uc.pt
Dependability of Computer SystemsRaúl Barbosa
rbarbosa@dei.uc.pt
SECOND SEMESTER
  
Development of Socio-Technical Systems
Licínio Roque
lir@dei.uc.pt
Technologies and Learning
Maria José Marcelino
zemar@dei.uc.pt
Research Topics on ubiquitous Computing
Carlos Bento
bento@dei.uc.pt
Advanced Topics on Informations Systems
Álvaro Rocha
amrocha@dei.uc.pt
Advanced Topics on Cognitive ModelingAmilcar Cardosoamilcar@dei.uc.pt
Advanced Topics on GeomathematicsGil Ritogil@mat.uc.pt
 Modeling and Simulation Theory
Fernando Barros
barros@dei.uc.pt
Connectivity and Patterns RecognitionBernardete Ribeirobribeiro@dei.uc.pt
Real Time Learning in Intelligent SystemsAntónio Douradodourado@dei.uc.pt
Biosignals Analysis and ProcessingPaulo de Carvalho
carvalho@dei.uc.pt
Evolutionary and Complex SystemsCarlos Fonseca
cmfonsec@dei.uc.pt