Centro de Geociências / Geosciences Center

  • DCT 2015

    New location

    New building of the Department of Earth Sciences.

    Rua Sílvio Lima. University of Coimbra - Pólo II. 3030-790 Coimbra. Portugal

    Lat: 40.186389° (40°11'11"N)

    Long: -8.412500° ( 8°24'45"W)

  • CGeo Consortium

    CGeo research consortium

    CGeo is a focused consortium based on the full commitment of its institutional members. It is a R&D unit of the Faculty of Sciences and Technology of the University of Coimbra (FCTUC) since 1992. It was created in 1976 at INIC (National Institute of Scientific Reserach).

    Three thematic lines: Stratigraphy and Geological Resources (SGR); Geology, Environment and Human Behavior (GEHB); Knowledge Socialization (KS).

    CGeo acts intensively in fostering an approach between Earth and Human Sciences.

  • Relogio Torre UC

    University of Coimbra

    Year of foundation 1290

    Three Campus

    Eight Faculties

    More info

The Research Unit “Centro de Geociências / Geosciences Center” until the end of 2014 is organized in four groups: Geochemistry; GeoTechnology; Quaternary and Prehistory; and Sedimentary Geology and Fossil Record. The Principal Institution for the Research Unit is the Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia of the University of Coimbra (UC), and the unit is based at the Department of Earth Sciences. Most of the researchers of this unit are from the UC, and the others integrate the following institutions: Instituto Terra e Memória (Mação), University of Trás os Montes e Alto Douro, Polytechnical Institutes of Tomar, Leiria, Castelo Branco and Guarda and the INETI (National Institute for Engineering and Industrial Technology). 
O Centro de GeoCiências foi financiado pelo Estado Português através da FCT – Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia no âmbito do projecto estratégico PEst-OE/CTE/UI0073/2011 e pelo PEst-OE/CTE/UI0073/2014.