This uses cookies that do not gather any personal information whatsoever. By using this website, you agree with the cookie policy.

Winners of the "Seed Projects for Interdisciplinary Scientific Research" revealed

30 march
Winners 2023
Winners 2023
© UC | Paulo Amaral

Under the 4th Edition of the funding programme "Seed Projects for Interdisciplinary Research", a total of five interdisciplinary research projects - one in each of the University of Coimbra Strategic Areas (AEUCs) - will be granted 100 thousand euros.

The initiative has the support of the Santander Universities programme, and is promoted by the Institute for Interdisciplinary Research of the University of Coimbra (IIIUC).

Winning projects 2023:

(by strategic area)

Health: "Adding Value to Food Waste (VIDA)"

Principal Investigator: Mónica da Rocha Zuzarte

Affiliation: CIBB – Centre for Innovative Biomedicine and Biotechnology

Natural Resources, Agrifood and Environment
: "Development of biofiltration strategies for water recovery (BIOFREE)"

Principal Investigator: João Manuel Ferreira Gomes

Affiliation: CIEPQPF - Chemical Process Engineering and Forest Products Research Centre

Climate, Energy and Mobility: "Silica-Polymer Composite Aerogels As Solid Sodium Electrolytes (AeroNaLyte)"

Principal Investigator: João Pedro Caria Vareda

Affiliation: CIEPQPF - Chemical Process Engineering and Forest Products Research Centre

Digital, Industry and Space: "Regeneration of used lubricating oil by supercritical CO2 - a process towards circular economy and environmental health (NeWLOife)"

Principal Investigator: Cecília Isabel Alves Ventura dos Santos

Affiliation: CQC - Coimbra Chemistry Centre

Heritage, Culture and Inclusive Society: "
Human-centred design as a vehicle for science communication: a participatory and citizen science research approach (PARTICIPATE2ENGAGE)"

Principal Investigator: Sara Varela Amaral

Affiliation: CNC - Center for Neuroscience and Cell Biology


Original news article in Portuguese: Marta Costa and Karine Paniza

Emhlish version: Diana Taborda