International Joint Conference on Automated Reasoning

Call for Papers


IJCAR 2016 - The 8th International Joint Conference on Automated Reasoning
Coimbra, Portugal, 27 June- 2 July, 2016

Call for Papers

IJCAR is the premier international joint conference on all topics in automated reasoning. The IJCAR technical program will consist of presentations of high-quality original research papers, system descriptions, and invited talks.

IJCAR 2016 is a merger of leading events in automated reasoning:

  • CADE (Conference on Automated Deduction),
  • FroCoS (Workshop on Frontiers of Combining Systems) and
  • TABLEAUX (Conference on Analytic Tableaux and Related Methods).

IJCAR 2016 invites submissions related to all aspects of automated reasoning, including foundations, implementations, and applications. Original research papers and descriptions of working automated deduction systems are solicited.

IJCAR topics include the following ones:

  • Logics of interest include: propositional, first-order, classical, equational, higher-order, non-classical, constructive, modal, temporal, many-valued, substructural, description, type theory, etc.
  • Methods of interest include: tableaux, sequent calculi, resolution, model-elimination, inverse method, paramodulation, term rewriting, induction, unification, constraint solving, decision procedures, model generation, model checking, semantic guidance, interactive theorem proving, logical frameworks, AI-related methods for deductive systems, proof presentation, automated theorem provers, combination of decision procedures, SAT and SMT solving, etc.
  • Applications of interest include: verification, formal methods, program analysis and synthesis, computer mathematics, declarative programming, deductive databases, knowledge representation, etc.

The proceedings of IJCAR 2016 will be published by Springer-Verlag in the LNAI/LNCS series (www.springer.com/lncs).

Submission details

Submission is electronic, through

Authors are strongly encouraged to use LaTeX and the Springer "llncs" format, which can be obtained from

The page limit is 15 pages for full papers (excluding bibliography), and 8 pages for system descriptions.

Best paper award

IJCAR 2016 will offer a best paper award to recognize the most outstanding paper appearing at the conference.

Program co-chairs

Nicola Olivetti (Aix-Marseille University, LSIS, France)
Ashish Tiwari (SRI International, USA)

Conference chair

Pedro Quaresma (University of Coimbra)

Publicity chair

Sandra Marques Pinto (University of Coimbra)

Workshop chair

Reinhard Kahle (New University of Lisbon)

Important dates

Abstract submission deadline: January 18, 2016
Paper submission deadline: January 25, 2016
Notification of paper decisions: March 21, 2016
Final version of papers due: April 11, 2016
Main Conference: 27-30 June, 2016
Satellite Events: 1-2 July, 2016

Student travel awards

Travel awards will be available to enable selected students to attend the conference. Details will be announced in March 2016.

Program Committee

Franz Baader (TU Dresden)
Peter Baumgartner (NICTA, The Australian National University)
Maria Paola Bonacina (Università degli Studi di Verona)
Agata Ciabattoni (TU Wien)
Leonardo de Moura (Microsoft Research)
Hans De Nivelle (University of Wroclaw)
Stephanie Delaune (LSV, CNRS, ENS Cachan)
Stéphane Demri (LSV, CNRS, ENS Cachan)
Clare Dixon (University of Liverpool)
Christian Fermüller (TU Wien)
Didier Galmiche (Université de Lorraine, LORIA)
Silvio Ghilardi (Università degli Studi di Milano)
Jürgen Giesl (RWTH Aachen)
Birte Glimm (Universität Ulm)
Rajeev Goré (The Australian National University)
Reiner Hähnle (Technical University of Darmstadt)
Stefan Hetzl (TU Wien)
Dejan Jovanović (SRI International)
Reinhard Kahle (New University of Lisbon)
Deepak Kapur (University of New Mexico)
Jordi Levy (IIIA - CSIC)
Carsten Lutz (University of Bremen)
Christopher Lynch (Clarkson University)
George Metcalfe (University of Bern)
Aart Middeldorp (University of Innsbruck)
Dale Miller (INRIA and LIX/Ecole Polytechnique)
Sara Negri (University of Helsinki)
Nicola Olivetti (Aix-Marseille University, LSIS)
Jens Otten (University of Potsdam)
Lawrence Paulson (University of Cambridge)
Nicolas Peltier (CNRS - LIG, Grenoble)
Andrei Popescu (Middlesex University London)
Christophe Ringeissen (LORIA-INRIA, Nancy)
Philipp Ruemmer (Uppsala University)
Masahiko Sakai (Nagoya University)
Renate A. Schmidt (University of Manchester)
Roberto Sebastiani (Università di Trento)
Martina Seidl (Johannes Kepler University Linz)
Viorica Sofronie-Stokkermans (University of Koblenz-Landau MPI)
Ashish Tiwari (SRI International)
Josef Urban (Czech Technical Institute Prague)
Christoph Weidenbach (MPI Saarbrücken)