Academic Scholarships

PhD Research Grants

The Centro de Investigação da Terra e do Espaço da Universidade de Coimbra (CITEUC) hereby opens this Call for Applications for 1 (one) research grants, hereinafter called PhD Research Grants, in the field(s) of Earth Sciences and Physics, in compliance with the provisions of the FCT Regulations for Research Grants and Fellowships (RBI) and the Research Fellowship Holder Statute (EBI).

The scholarships will be financed by the Foundation for Science and Technology (Fundação para a Ciência e Tecnologia) (FCT) under the Collaboration Agreement of the Multiannual Financing Plan for Doctoral Research Grants, signed between FCT and the R&D Research Unit Centro de Investigação da Terra e do Espaço da Universidade de Coimbra , CITEUC - UIDP/00611/2020.

For more information click here.

2nd edition of the "Mirpuri Foundation Ocean Award"

As part of the Marine Conservation Program, the Mirpuri Foundation is organizing the 2nd edition of the "Mirpuri Foundation Ocean Award", an award that aims to recognize the excellence and contribution of the scientific community with regard to the conservation of the oceans.

Interested parties must submit a scientific poster, in English, that demonstrates their project with a positive impact on the health of the oceans by June 8, World Oceans Day, using the following address: The winner will receive a cash prize of €5,000 and a trophy, which will be presented at a ceremony in July this year.

For more information, please consult the attached document.

Competition for the Attribution of Research Grants for PhD - 2022

Advanced Training Scholarships

FCT recalls that in this Call for Research Grants for Doctoral Degrees, in addition to applications in all scientific areas and with research work to be carried out in scientific and academic institutions, which must be submitted in the general line in Scientific and Academic Institutions, An application line is also open for research grants whose work plans are totally or partially carried out in non-academic entities, whose applications must be submitted in the specific line for application in Non-Academic Environment.
It should be noted that, however, to be admitted to the specific application line, it is mandatory to indicate at least one non-academic host institution, and to associate at least one member of the guidance team integrated in it. If these requirements are not cumulatively met, the application will not be admitted to the competition.
It should also be noted that each candidate can choose only one line of application, submitting a single application in the competition, under penalty of cancellation of all applications submitted.

(For more information, see the FCT page by clicking here)

Scholarships FRANCE EXCELLENCE EUROPA for a master's degree in France

Developed by the French Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs and introduced on the occasion of the French Presidency of the Council of the EU (1 January - 30 June 2022), this "France Excellence Europe" scholarship program allows students from 26 EU countries receive a scholarship for a MASTER at a French higher education institution.


- Payment of a semester scholarship of 6,850 euros;

- Payment of an installation allowance of 1,700 euros;

- Exemption from the payment of tuition fees in universities and public institutions;

- and many other benefits.

Duration of the Excellence Scholarship:

- Maximum of 24 months if enrolled in the first year of the Master (Master 1);

- Maximum of 12 months if enrolled in the second year of the Master (Master 2).


- Be a national of one of the 26 EU Member States (students of French nationality, including those with nationalities, are not eligible);

- Be between 18 and 25 years of age at the time of starting the mobility phase in France;

- Be admitted to a French higher education institution for a Master 1 or Master 2 during the academic year 2022-2023;

- Not receiving an Erasmus+ scholarship or any other scholarship from a French ministry.

Study areas:

- Culture and cultural heritage;

- Education, pedagogy, higher education (teacher training);

- French language and civilization, foreign languages ​​and European studies;

- Health Sciences;

- Environmental Sciences;

- Digital technologies.

Portuguese applicants must send their application documents by email to the following address before March 15, 2022.

Information and applications

Professor Cotelo Neiva Matriculation of Merit Awards

Academic Year 2022/2023

Opening Notice

The Department of Earth Sciences of the Faculty of Science and Technology of the University of Coimbra, with the aim of recognizing the quality and propensity of students for training in Geology at the University of Coimbra, instituted the "Professor Cotelo Neiva Merit Matricles" awards.

Description of Awards:

The Professor Cotelo Neiva Matriculation of Merit Awards distinguish the two students with the highest classification for admission to the 2nd Cycle of Studies (Master's in Geosciences and Master's in Geological and Mining Engineering), in the academic year 2022/2023 of the Faculty of Sciences and Technology at the University of Coimbra, honoring the geologist and scientist Professor Cotelo Neiva.


Candidates for the Professor Cotelo Neiva Matriculations of Merit Awards are students who enter the 2nd cycle of studies for the first time (Master's in Geosciences and Master's in Geological and Mining Engineering) at the DCT-FCTUC, in the academic year 2022/2023


1st Prize – Payment of the annual tuition fee to the student placed with the highest classification in the academic year 2022/2023;

2nd Prize - Payment of half of the annual tuition fee to the student placed with the 2nd highest classification in academic year 2022/2023;

The rules and general principles for the attribution of the two prizes, indexed to the value of the annual tuition fee of the University of Coimbra, are available here (portuguese version only).

Past edition winners:

Winners of the 2020/2021 edition:

1.º - Ionela Ursachi;

2.º - Carolina Mouchinho Nunes; Francisca Teixeira Prazeres (Ex aequo).

Winners of the 2021/2022 edition:

1.º - Bárbara Martins da Costa

2.º - José Lourenço Mendonça

This uses cookies that do not gather any personal information whatsoever. By using this website, you agree with the cookie policy.