This uses cookies that do not gather any personal information whatsoever. By using this website, you agree with the cookie policy.

BSc in Mathematics with Minor

The BSc in Mathematics with Minor lasts 3 years and offers a solid and diverse training, from the great classical subjects of Geometry, Algebra and Analysis, to the more recent areas of knowledge, complemented by the study of themes in another scientific area. This option allows to widen the scope of undergraduate studies and increases the possibility of insertion in the job market.

A Minor is composed of five courses in a given specific scientific area, and may be chosen from any of the following, recognized by the Faculty of Sciences and Technology:

  • Minor in Anthropology
  • Minor in Biophysics
  • Minor in Biology
  • Minor in Biochemistry
  • Minor in Entrepreneurship
  • Minor in Physics
  • Minor in Sciences of the Space

Skills to acquire

In addition to the skills to be acquired in the BSc in Mathematics, choosing a Minor guarantees a scientific approach to another area of knowledge and the acquisition of specific additional skills that will add value in the job market


The BSc in Mathematics with Minor lasts three years. The work developed by a student must total 180 ECTS, from which 30 ECTS are in the scientific area of the Minor.

The study programme of the BSc in Mathematics with Minor is organized in six semesters:

1st semester
  • Infinitesimal Analysis I (10 ECTS)
  • Geometry (6 ECTS)
  • Number Theory (6 ECTS)
  • Linear Algebra and Analytical Geometry I (8 ECTS)
2nd semester
  • Infinitesimal Analysis II (7.5 ECTS)
  • Discrete Mathematics (7.5 ECTS)
  • Programming Methods I (7.5 ECTS)
  • Linear Algebra and Analytical Geometry II (7.5 ECTS)
3rd semester
  • Infinitesimal Analysis III (7.5 ECTS)
  • Differential Equations and Modelling (7.5 ECTS)
  • Groups and Symmetries (7.5 ECTS)
  • Programming Methods II (7.5 ECTS)
4th semester
  • Infinitesimal Analysis IV (6 ECTS)
  • Fields and Algebraic Equations (6 ECTS)
  • Curves and Surfaces (6 ECTS)
  • Probability (6 ECTS)
  • Option MRN1 (6 ECTS)

NoteOption MNR1 must be chosen from the list of courses available for the corresponding Minor.

    5th semester
    • Numerical Mathematics I (6 ECTS)
    • Statistics (6 ECTS)
    • Option MNR2 (6 ECTS)
    • Option MNR3 (6 ECTS)
    • Mathematical Logic (option A, 6 ECTS)
    • Topology and Linear Analysis (option A, 6 ECTS)

    NoteOption MNR2 and Option MNR3 must be chosen from the list of courses available for the corresponding Minor.
    Note: The student must choose one course marked with Option A.

      6th semester
      • Complex Analysis (6 ECTS)
      • Computational Statistics (3 ECTS)
      • Numerical Mathematics II (6 ECTS)
      • Mathematics Seminar (3 ECTS)
      • Option MNR4 (6 ECTS)
      • Option MNR5 (6 ECTS)

      NoteOption MNR4 and Option MNR5 must be chosen from the list of courses available for the corresponding Minor.

      Detailed program



      Departamento de Matemática da FCTUC

      Apartado 3008
      EC Santa Cruz
      3001 – 501 Coimbra

      Phone: +351 239 791 150
      Fax: +351 239 793 069

      Program coordination:

      • Júlio Neves (coordinator, DM)