The Doctoral Schools (DS) are a forum for sharing, cross-fertilization of practices, resources and reflections, aligning doctoral programs with the Strategic Areas of the University of Coimbra.

The ED's main goal is to enhance the capacity of the University of Coimbra to provide the community of doctoral students with excellent scientific training, ensuring the development of skills and openness to other fields of knowledge and the world.

The University of Coimbra has 5 doctoral schools, each one integrated into a Strategic Area, promoting the fertile crossing between distinct scientific areas.