/ Eventos / Conferências

XQCD 2023 and accompanying PhD School

XQCD 2023

26–28 Jul 2023

Invited speakers:

  • Gert Aarts - Swansea U
  • Jens O. Andersen - NTNU
  • Raffaele Del Grande - Munich T U
  • Joseph Kapusta - Minnesota U
  • Peter Petreczky - Brookhaven
  • Isaac Vidaña - INFN Catania


  • QCD at Finite Temperature and Density
  • QCD in External Fields
  • Phase Diagram of Strongly Interacting Matter
  • Properties of the Quark-Gluon Plasma
  • Heavy Ion Collisions Phenomenology
  • Properties of Strongly Interacting Gauge Theories
  • Machine learning and QFT
  • Neutron stars


Email: xqcd2023@uc.pt

Registration and further details

PhD School

23–25 Jul 2023

Invited speakers:

  • Wojciech Florkowski - Jagiellonian U
  • Kenji Fukushima - Tokyo U
  • Maria Paola Lombardo - INFN Firenze
  • Carolyn Raithel - Princeton U


  • Lattice QCD
  • Neutron stars & multi-messenger physics
  • QCD at finite temperature and density
  • QCD in relativistic heavy-ion collisions


Email: xqcd2023_phdschool@uc.pt

Registration and further details

The 19th International Conference on QCD in Extreme Conditions (XQCD 2023) will take place from 26 to 28 of July 2023 at the Department of Physics of the University of Coimbra, Portugal. XQCD is a series of international workshop-style conferences, held annually, which aims at covering recent advances in the theory and phenomenology of QCD under extreme conditions of temperature and/or baryon density, together with related topics.

The XCQD2023 PhD school will also be held at the University of Coimbra from July 23 to July 25 2023, right before the XQCD 2023 conference. The school will feature block lectures 3 x 90min on four research areas, which are central elements of the studies presented at the XQCD conference, providing an in-depth review of these fields for PhD students.


Local Organizing Committee

  • Brigitte Hiller

  • Constança Providência

  • Michael Strickland

  • Márcio Ferreira

  • Orlando Oliveira

  • Paulo Silva

  • Pedro Costa

International Advisory Committee

  • Gert Aarts (Swansea)

  • Andrei Alexandru (GWU)
  • Ying Chen (IHEP/CAS)
  • Massimo D'Elia (Pisa)
  • Philippe de Forcrand (ETHZ/CERN)
  • Heng-Tong Ding (CCNU)
  • Kenji Fukushima (Tokyo)
  • Margarita Garcia Perez (IFT UAM-CSIC)
  • Frithjof Karsch (Bielefeld)
  • Kurt Langfeld (Liverpool)
  • Maria Paola Lombardo (INFN)

International Advisory Committee

  • Tereza Mendes (Sao Paulo)
  • Atsushi Nakamura (Osaka/FEFU)
  • Owe Philipsen (Frankfurt)
  • Krishna Rajagopal (MIT)
  • Kim Splittorff (NBI)
  • Michael Strickland (Kent State)
  • Jacobus Verbaarschot (Stony Brook)
  • Aleksi Vuorinen (Helsinki)
  • Urs Wenger (Bern)
  • Nu Xu (LBNL/CCNU)