This uses cookies that do not gather any personal information whatsoever. By using this website, you agree with the cookie policy.

Energy for Sustainability Initiative (EfS)


The Energy for Sustainability Initiative (EfS) gathers together faculty and researchers from fourteen R&D Units of the University of Coimbra, affiliated to the Faculty of Economics, the Faculty of Psychology and Educational Science, the Faculty of Law and to the Faculty of Science & Technology, namely the Departments of  Architecture, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Computers, Civil Engineering, Informatic Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Life Sciences and Earth Sciences. This Initiative manages advanced training activities, at the masters and doctoral levels. The activities are very much of an interdisciplinary nature, and have been achieving strong interaction with industry and society at large. This is because they concern urban systems, industrial production and energy (conventional or based on renewable sources), for buildings and transport.

These two essential characteristics have shown the need for a structure that will ensure the activities are conducted properly, to guarantee the core goals of the initiative, i.e., close cooperation between the University of Coimbra and industry. Therefore the EfS Initiative is organized as follows:

Organization and Coordination
External adviceRepresentation, planning and assessmentOperational Management
External Advisory and Assessment Board (CEAA)Professors and Researchers Council (CDI)Scientific Coordination and Management Committee (CCCG)
External Scientific Advisory Committee (CACE)Interdisciplinary Representation Council (CRI)
  • Academic and Pedagogical Affairs Committee (CAPA)
  • Scientific Research and Business Liaison Committee (CICLE)
  • Communication Committee (CCom)
  • Sustainable Campus Committee (CCS)

External advice

External Advisory and Assessment Board (CEAA)

The External Advisory and Assessment Board is composed of employers outside the UC, whose role is to organize reflection on UC's strategy for EfS areas and assess the achievement of the general objectives and of the education and training activities managed by the EfS Initiative.

External Scientific Advisory Committee (CACE)

The CACE plays an important role in promoting and developing EfS interdisciplinary scientific research. It analyses and provides counselling on the Initiative's strategy and scientific activities, including projects, publications, interdisciplinary R&D fostering, international cooperation, student involvement in scientific projects and methods and directions for future work.

Representation, planning and assessment

Professors and Researchers Council (CDI)

The CDI is composed of lecturers and researchers that take part of the Initiative and gathers at least once a year to analyze the activities and develop an opinion on future planning.

Interdisciplinary Representation Council (CRI)

The role of this structure is to define a medium-term guidance, monitor the activities of the Initiative and assure a formal link to the R&D Units involved in the EfS Initiative. IRC elements are professors or postdoctoral researchers, appointed by leaders of the R&D Units, one for each Unit, as these are the structures eminently responsible for developing UC's Interdisciplinary R&D that is stimulated by the Initiative. Through these representatives, IRC also aims at ensuring adequate representation of the UC Organic Units.

Domingos Xavier ViegasADAI
Helena FreitasCEF
Paulo PeixotoCES
Rui Pena dos ReisCGeo
Bernardete RibeiroCISUC
Nuno Simõesitecons
António Pais AntunesCITTA
António Garcia PortugalCIEPQPF
Eduardo BarataCeBER
João CoutinhoINESCC
Armando Mónica de OliveiraIPCDHS
Aníbal Traça de AlmeidaISR
Rui Moura RamosIJ

Operational Management

Scientific Coordination and Management Committee (CCCG)

CCCG is responsible for the scientific and training areas within the Energy for Sustainability Initiative. This committee is responsible for managing all aspects of the training, including its promotion and coordination among all units involved, of the research, and its internal and external assessment. The current members of this committee are:

Manuel Gameiro da Silva (Coord.)ADAI
Alexandra AragãoIJ
Carlos Henggeler AntunesINESCC
Fausto FreireADAI
José Joaquim da CostaADAI
Luís Cândido DiasCeBER
Nuno Simõesitecons
Patrícia SilvaINESCC
Ana Ramos EfS

The CCCG is assisted by four committees dedicated to specific activity areas. These committees are constituted in such a way as to have the presence of at least one CCCG member, the remaining elements being mobilized by invitation between lecturers and researchers associated to the Initiative.

Academic and Pedagogical Affairs Committee (CAPA)

Responsible for managing the educational programs managed by the Initiative, from initial application to the defense of theses or dissertations, covering the aspects of academic management and pedagogical issues, including quality assessment. The current members of this committee are:

Álvaro GomesINESCC
Adélio GasparADAI
Luís Miguel CruzCeBER
Manuel Gameiro da SilvaADAI
Nuno Vieira Simõesitecons
Carla RodriguesADAI
Ana Rita AmaralPhD student
Ana RamosEfS

Committee for Scientific Research and Outreach (CICLE)

Promotes interdisciplinary scientific research in energy, encouraging crossing activities between scientific expertise areas available at UC, as well as the detection of external funding opportunities in the country and abroad. It is also responsible for the relationship with members of the CEAA and for the promotion of projects with or for the companies. The current members of this committee are:

Carlos Henggeler AntunesINESCC
João BigotteCITTA
José Baranda RibeiroADAI
Inês Simõesitecons
Pedro MouraISR
Rita GarciaADAI/CIE
Danyela SamaniegoEfS

Communication Committee (CCom)

Develops all activities related to the promotion of the Initiative, publicizing the offer of training, events, projects and progress of the Initiative EfS activities. The current members of this committee are:

Alexandra AragãoIJ
Catarina Serraitecons
Eugénio RodriguesADAI
Vanessa Tavares EfS PhD student
Danyela SamaniegoEfS

Sustainable Campus Committee (CCS)

Mobilizes resources and expertise gathered in the Initiative, in close collaboration with the UC Services to meet the needs of the university in the fields of energy and mobility. It also promotes initiatives and projects fostering and encouraging sustainable management of the university buildings and urban environment. The current members of this committee are:

Adélio GasparADAI
Anabela Ribeiro CITTA
A. Gomes MartinsINESCC
Fausto FreireADAI
Humberto JorgeINESCC
José Joaquim da CostaADAI
Luís DiasCeBER
Marta LopesINESCC
Danyela SamaniegoEfS